Taking my eyes off Jesus

Lately life has been going 200 miles per hour without a break in sight…. Turns out if you run to fast for to long you crash. And that’s just what happened to me. I’ve been sick as a dog and honestly panicked, knowing that the work load isn’t letting up and I have a couple big events right around the corner.

As I lay on my couch sick and trying to relax, my 5-year-old son rolls into the living room to Play a little Lego Star Wars X-box style 🙂 After about 10 minutes of watching what he was doing, my attention shifted to him. He was sitting on the floor in front of my eyes locked straight ahead. His body wincing and twitching with the moves of Yoda on the screen. I found myself captivated by him. I love my boy so much. And although I could only see the back of his buzzed little head and his cute little ears, I adored him.

It hit me hard at that very moment, just as my love for my son was not dependent upon his focus on me. God’s love for us isn’t dependent upon our focus on Him.  At that moment my son had probably forgotten I was in the room. I smiled a little shamefully thinking of my constant efforts to earn God’s love realizing that even when my eyes are off Jesus he still adores me because I am His…

5 thoughts on “Taking my eyes off Jesus

  1. Another lesson to be learned from that moment, that could also be related to working yourself sick:
    When you allow yourself to focus on something so hard that your dedication to it turns into tunnel vision & you lose track of where that project ends & the rest of reality begins… You end up a rather “twitchy/flinchy” person to be around. 🙂

  2. Thanks for this, Doug. I really needed to hear it. As you described how as Arran was watching Yoda with his eyes locked on the screen I couldn’t help but think about what happens when we watch Jesus, eyes locked on Him. As Arran was all wrapped up in the game he was twitching and moving with Yoda’s exact and every move. Isn’t that how it is when we lock eyes on Jesus? We start moving like Him, reacting like Him, twitching like Him 🙂 Thanks for this! Love and miss you so much!

  3. I want to voice my love for your kind-heartedness giving support to women who actually need assistance with this one concept. Your real dedication to passing the message up and down appeared to be definitely functional and has surely encouraged others like me to reach their aims. Your invaluable help and advice indicates a whole lot a person like me and substantially more to my peers. With thanks; from all of us.

Leave a Reply

