The Two Evils in This World

I am constantly perplexed in life by the choices that people make (including myself). It seems like we are all constantly in the process of trying to find joy or to fix ourselves, maybe it’s just in feeling good about fixing others.
It seems like on a daily basis if conscious of it or not, I am hoping to stumble upon something that will make me whole, or to feel like I am. I find that I am straining to develop something in my life that will bring me contentment. Lets be honest I want my arms bigger, I want my waist smaller, I want more money in my bank account, a little more recognition wouldn’t hurt ( okay maybe a auditorium full of people cheering me on, haha). It just seems like there is this is an anxiousness that makes us all want to self medicate either with drugs, power, influence, affection… the list goes on and on.  So today as I was thinking of all of this a verse hit me that I haven’t thought about for a while, and I thought I would share it.
Jeremiah 2:13 for my people have committed two evils: they have forsaken me, the fountain of living waters, and hewed out cisterns for themselves, broken cisterns that can hold no water.
Gosh what a beautiful and powerful verse, full of purpose and direction. First I love that as Israel is to receive this rebuke it is first full of love. Do you see it? God says my people. You and I in the mist of our mistakes our shortcomings our evil are loved by God and he says we our His. Not like an owner to a slave but a father to a child.  Before God asked anything of us he accepts us as His own. Then he says that His people have forsaken Him. He will never leave or forsake us but us Him. I know you have probably been to church like me and been hurt. But that isn’t God, that is His people forsaking him and turning toward religion and when that is fed to you, it is the rules and religion that forsake not God… Keep looking
We not only forsake Him but we hew or carve out cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water. God wants to give us everything we need for growth and life and he wants it to be fresh and new (Living water like from a stream that never goes dry) See John 4:10 and Psalm 1:3. We on the other hand find something we like affection, attention, security and we crave that and we want to store that up as the thing that we need. We arrange our live and labor for that thing. But sadly these cisterns cannot bring or sustain life. They our broken and what they hold is stale.
Ask yourself today how can you draw back toward God? Remember you are already His and he loves you and is waiting to be your provider of what is good what is healthy and fresh. This is not a question of how can you labor but of how can you rest in Him. Then what is your broken cistern and what is it that you have been trying to drink of?
It’s interested to think about these huge cisterns you couldn’t take them with you, you were stuck chained if you may to one source of satisfaction. I have to wonder if I was willing to walk away from my stale cistern, what might God have for me. What beauty might I see, what victory my I experience.
 Psalm 42:1 As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. 2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
Have a great day
Leave a Reply

