Joseph Atwill’s new book Covert Messiah bound to rise quickly and fall even faster

Image

So I want to start by saying simply this, don’t panic. For those of you that don’t know who Joseph Atwill is let me tell you. He is a Self Professed Bible Scholar that has tried to take down Christianity before and failed.

He will not be exposing evidence that Jesus was invented, exactly what he will reveal isn’t known. This is very interesting because if he did have evidence (or even really thought he had evidence) he would be going through a peer review process before jumping into the public with a book and symposium.

He is seeking to shake the faith of a few and stir up the fervor of the skeptics and militant atheist. Atwill wrote a best seller before “Caesar’s Messiah: The Roman Conspiracy to Invent Jesus” was published by Ulysses Press in 2006. This book although selling a ton isn’t on the radar of academia. It is written well but not on the shelves of true Biblical Scholars or Historians as a reference. In short it has been a few years and he is looking to pad his pockets and make some noise.

Also as you may or may not have picked up on Joseph isn’t a trained biblical scholar he just claims to be. His background is in computer science.

I am placing a few links here for you incase you would like to read about his theory and some of the gaping holes that he has in them.

After the 19th there will be a huge stir and then he will be shut down again as he was in 2006-2007

As Joseph’s so-called evidence comes out, I’ll keep you updated on what sort of smoke and mirror show he is presenting as well as how the Scholars respond.

Here are a few links for your entertainment and education of people who are already showing the weakness of the Covert Messiah.

Joseph Atwill’s Caesar’s Messiah: A Critique

No, Joe Atwill: Rome Did Not Invent Jesus

A response to the work of Joseph Atwill “The Roman Conspiracy to Invent Jesus?” 

Ceasar’s Messiah Conspiracy Theory is Easily Refuted

Dr. John Warwick Montgomery Responds to Covert Messiah (Podcast)

9 thoughts on “Joseph Atwill’s new book Covert Messiah bound to rise quickly and fall even faster

  1. Regardless of Joseph Atwill’s legitimacy as a Bible scholar or whether his thesis bears any weight, of one thing we can be certain: Christian religion drives a multi-billion dollar industry and any challenge to its legitimacy will be countered accordingly. This is significant because it demonstrates what happens when an industry driven idea is capitalized to the extent that any debate or scholarship challenging that idea is marginalized. I respectfully suggest that by dismissing challenges to an established belief, free and open discourse is quashed. Rather than try to debunk challenges to established and closely held belief systems, embrace the opportunity for open debate. It is possible to defend one’s beliefs against perceived threats from without, without being close-minded and dismissive of the countering argument. If a belief system–or one’s faith–cannot withstand the challenges of honest scholarship or legitimate scrutiny, one is either not secure in their faith or haven’t recognized the need NOT to defend their faith; otherwise, the heretofore faithful needs to redefine what it is he or she DOES believe in.

  2. Alan, thank you so much for your comments. I agree with you , and the institutionalization of the church isn’t a healthy thing. The issue I have with Atwill, is that (in my opinion) this isn’t about debating views or seeking after truth.

    This is about making money. I am sure you’ve heard that the bible is an anvil that has worn out many hammers. Those that have put in years of time and effort of study welcome debate and discussion. It is healthy to maintain the trajectory of seeking after truth. But Atwill isn’t trying to enter into a discussion. He is trying to steamroll those that are potentially weak in their christian faith due to their lack of effort and education. And the way I look at it he is seeing it to bolster the faith of those that are atheist by feeding them something they want to hear, but this is absolutely untrue.

    If you want to look at real research in regards to higher criticism or historical accuracy of the Bible, Christians lead the field. It is, as I am aware one of the only faith based system that encourages you to test and see regarding its own teaching. Blind faith is discouraged because it allows you to be easily deceived. So we are to test all things.

    Christianity has undergone incredible changes over the years do to the constant challenges from within to examine our faith and actions as well as how we outwardly express our faith. I do think we are hardly perfect in this and should have a greater warmth in allowing other to test the truthfulness of our claims. I think one if the issues is that there are so many that are uneducated in what they believe that they are afraid they will be proven wrong if tested. so they just but their head in the ground and hope it will all stop. The second thing which isn’t a good excuse, but I think true is that over the years many have become trigger happy with having some people attack the faith and due to this that they aren’t able to see that there are others that want to have a real conversation.

    Thank you again

  3. Doug,

    My post was impulsive and not intended to stir up any specific debate, although I appreciate your thoughtful reply. In truth, Mr. Atwill was off my radar and likewise his thesis, although I confess to hitting some of the high points in a brief search on the subject. Further, I have no particular opinion of Mr. Atwill to share nor am I enticed to pursue the subject further other than ancillary to my general interest in Roman sociology, art, and culture–both Republic and Empire.

    One could probably power a small city with the energy expended by those responsible (?) for setting the record straight. No dialog there. I should point out that my experience with the Christian Right (as opposed, I guess, to the other variety–Democrats for Jesus) is limited to several friends of mine who have spent the past forty years trying to convince me why I should “accept Jesus Christ as my personal Savior;” apparently to secure a place in Heaven when the Rapture comes and keep ones friends together. I mean no offense here and bring this up only because in all the years I have known these fine people, never once have I been afforded an opportunity for dialog. It is strictly dogma, said in monolog and predicated on one very basic principle–faith in a higher power. Referencing what I stated previously–bearing witness aside–why does any of this need to be debated anyway? If I am strong in my faith, should I not also live that faith and in the doing, not feel a need to defend or justify? By having to shout it, when others proselytize a belief–be it the evils of smoking or drinking or promoting ones religious faith–the individual risks appearing weak in their convictions. Faith is a wonderful–and often times a necessary–thing; it’s only when faith has to be shored up by rancorous adherence to dogmatic thinking (nonthinking?) and blind allegiance to the institutions of man–and not God.

    Not that this matters one iota, I confess to having been raised–as my mother put it–free thinkers. On relating this to an acquaintance, he demanded to know what I meant by “free thinker,” as if the the words were somehow a threat. Believing it to be self-explanatory, I was taken aback by the question and discovered that it was not such a simple concept to explain–at least as I have come to understand its meaning. From this simple lesson, I learned that a personal truth or belief–comforting to one soul–can be anathema or just plan stupid sounding to another.

    I appreciate the opportunity to share these thoughts and thank those responsible for providing this forum.

    1. So sorry for your friends responses. I would hope that they meant well but didn’t communicate well. I would love to have the opportunity to converse with you more about faith. I am always looking to learn more and love to hear where others journeys have taken them. In regards to the Christian faith or bible. If you have any questions I would love to take the time to explain these to the best of my ability. I love when people ask because it pushes me to re-examine my faith and answers so that I am always seeking after truth.
      Have a great day and I hope to hear from you again

  4. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.
    Though I am not likely to read Atwill’s book, the idea he is putting forward is easily refuted.
    Present a counter-argument where Christianity has empowered the lower classes – i.e. blacks in the civil rights movement, women in the suffrage movement, blacks in South Africa during apartheid, the dismantling of the Iron Curtain in the early 1980’s by Polish Catholics, the empowering of Christian peasants in El Salvador in the 1980’s, the resistance of Tea Party politics by movements such as The SImple Way and the notion is easily refuted.
    All the great social and civil turbulence which has ultimately lead to the liberation and/or empowerment of the lower class and oppressed peoples invariably draws on the real life story of Jesus as its inspiration.
    Gandhi wouldn’t have happened without the Sermon on the Mount to inspire him.
    More recently, the promise many of us felt with ‘Arab Spring’, which one day will emerge despite it’s taking longer than we had hoped for, draws as its impetus the willing sacrifice of themselves (I am talking here of those engaged in peaceful protests and killed for it in Tunisia, Egypt, Bahrain, Syria, etc) to gain freedom for succeeding generations. The impetus for such courage was and is Calvary and comes to life again whenever this phenomena occurs: ‘greater love has no one than someone who lays down his or her life for their friends.’

    1. Hey John thanks so much for your comments I really appreciate them. I think part of his ideology was that Christianity brought a perceived empowerment of the lower class, but one that would ultimately keep them in bondage due to their invented morality and to the positive association with servanthood poverty and humility. I will take a look at it more though. Blessings

  5. Atwill’s evidence for this is circumstantial. But the gospel events did take place in the late AD 60s, which is why Jesus describes the siege of Jerusalem in Luke 19:43.

    If you want the complete evidence for this, and find out who Jesus really was, you need to read ‘King Jesus’ and ‘Jesus, King of Edessa’.

  6. I’ve been trying to search who Joe Atwill really is on the Internet, and so far I have found none. Was he really some computer dude as you say? If so, maybe you can give me some links?

Leave a Reply

